Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was inspired today to write about time and space as they pertain to life, love and relationships. I know that in the hustle and bustle of day to day living the importance of our time and space can get out of focus. We all have so much to do and so many places to go. This is true for almost everyone I know. I want to take a moment and return our focus to the subject of our time and our space. Have you ever had an event in your life that helped to bring time and space into focus for you? As the days roll on the calendar one of those days are on the way. You see, i’m doing a personal evaluation of how I spend my time and how I use my space. More importantly, who do I spend time with and who I allow in my space.

I must admit that I am focusing on one specific goal in particular. My goal in this is to become better relationally, but that first requires that I be aware of the opportunities and the significance of both concepts and how I function within them. They are bound together and I can’t separate myself from either. When I begin to look at time and space in the context of relationships the context changes everything. Shouldn’t the context of relationships change everything? Shouldn’t the time and space we share and partake of in relationships change how we look at time and space?

I mention all of this as I have to this point in my life (and I believe you have too) have been a part of some very special relationships. I wanted to do more than just think about these as a thought but I wanted to journal how awe struck I am that I get to share time and space with extraordinary people. I want you to understand me clearly, I don’t consider what people have gained or acquired in terms of material possessions to see them extraordinary people. I know that the culture that we live in today has a tendency to believe popularity, fame and money makes a person extraordinary and interesting. Sorry, I don’t and furthermore you shouldn’t either (I’m not telling you what to do but consider this a significant suggestion). When I think of the time, space and relationships. It is relationships that add quality to my time and space.

I write this as a reminder so we (you &me) won’t lose sight of what’s important. I understand that every relationship in your time and space is not a perfect one. I realize there is a part of the relationship you don’t control but there is a part that you do control. We should seek to do our best in the parts where we a have choice to do so. Why is this important? Because in every relationship where you spend time, and you share space, you have the opportunity to influence or be influenced, inspire or be inspired to love and/or be loved, to trust and/or be trusted, to forgive and/or be forgiven.

I say all that to say that you have a limited amount of time and the space you can occupy at one time is limited too. But within the time and space you’ve been given you can be an extraordinary and significant person in someone else’s time and space. So make certain that the time and space you share with people is something you don’t take for granted. Learn to see your relationships as the collateral that extraordinary people trade upon. You can do this by valuing their time and space that they spend with you.

Image