I was thinking today. What would I do if the bottom fell out of my career/job? What would I do? No, seriously what would I do? What would you do? I often have these thoughts that our jobs or careers hold us back in a way. Often we have ideas of what we would like to do, what we would like to pursue. If my back were pressed to the wall I often think that I would do this or I would do that.

It has occurred to me that while the bottom hasn’t fallen out,  there is this feeling that the bottom is starting to come unglued.  (I know it’s just me) I imagine much like a high wire walker who has a net beneath him. The things he is willing to do with a net beneath him. Shouldn’t he be even more daring knowing he has a safety net below him. So what should I/we be doing if we have a safety net beneath us (our job/career).

What if your working without the net now? I believe working without the net could and should push us to another level, another level of focus, another level of discipline, another level of preparation, it should push to be that much better for those times when we are working with the net. So in the event your safety net is moved or pulled while you are still on the high wire. It will be no big deal because you have a mind-set of working without the net.